SOUTHEND-ON-SEA BOROUGH COUNCIL

Meeting of The Council

Date: Monday, 3rd June, 2019
Place: Council Chamber - Civic Suite

Present: Councillor J Lamb (Chair)

Councillors M Flewitt (Vice-Chair), S Aylen, B Ayling, J Beck, M Borton, H Boyd, A Bright, K Buck, L Burton, A Chalk, P Collins, D Cowan, T Cox, M Davidson, A Dear, M Dent, F Evans, K Evans, N Folkard, D Garne, D Garston, George, I Gilbert, S Habermel, T Harp, B Hooper, D Jarvis, A Jones, M Kelly, H McDonald.

D McGlone, K Mitchell, A Moring, C Mulroney, D Nelson, C Nevin, K Robinson, L Salter, M Stafford, M Terry, A Thompson, S Wakefield,

C Walker, N Ward, P Wexham, C Willis and R Woodley

Start/End Time: 18.30/19.45

18 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Burzotta, Shead and Van Looy.

19 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest at this meeting.

20 Removal of the Leader of the Council

This meeting had been called by the Worshipful the Mayor following a requisition by 5 Councillors, pursuant to Section 3 of Schedule 12 to the Local Government Act 1972, for three matters, including the removal of the Leader of the Council.

The motion to remove the Leader of the Council was proposed by Councillor Terry and seconded by Councillor Harp.

In accordance with Council Procedure Rules a named vote was taken, as follows:

For the removal of the Leader of the Council:

Cllrs Ayling, Beck, Borton, Burton, Chalk, Collins, Cowan, Dent, George, Gilbert, Harp, Hooper, Jones, Kelly, McDonald, Mitchell, Mulroney, Nevin, Robinson, Stafford, Terry, Thompson, Wakefield, Ward, Wexham, Willis and Woodley (27)

Against the removal of the Leader of the Council:

Cllrs Aylen, Boyd, Bright, Buck, Cox, Davidson, Dear, F. Evans, K. Evans, Flewitt, Folkard, Garne, D Garston, Habermel, Jarvis, McGlone, Moring, Nelson, Salter and Walker (20)

Abstentions:

Cllr Lamb (1)

Absent:

Cllrs Burzotta, Shead and Van Looy.

The motion to remove the Leader of the Council was carried.

21 Appointment of new Leader of the Council

The Worshipful the Mayor informed the Council that a new Leader of the Council needed to be elected, as provided for in the Constitution.

A named vote was taken for the appointment of a new Leader of the Council, as follows:

For Councillor Gilbert:

Cllrs Ayling, Beck, Borton, Burton, Chalk, Collins, Cowan, Dent, George, Gilbert, Harp, Hooper, Jones, Kelly, McDonald, Mitchell, Mulroney, Nevin, Robinson, Stafford, Terry, Thompson, Wakefield, Ward, Wexham, Willis and Woodley (27)

For Councillor Aylen:

Cllrs Aylen, Buck, Cox, Dear, F Evans, Flewitt, Folkard, Garne, D Garston, Jarvis, McGlone, Moring, Nelson, Salter and Walker (15)

Abstentions:

Cllrs Boyd, Bright, Davidson, K Evans, Habermel, and Lamb (Mayor) (6)

Absent::

Cllrs Burzotta, Shead and Van Looy (3)

Resolved:

That Councillor Gilbert be appointed Leader of the Council.

22 Reallocation of appointments dealt with at the Council meeting on 16th May 2019

The Council considered a report of the Strategic Director (Legal and Democratic Services) on the above matter.

Resolved:

- 1. That it be noted that, following the Local Elections on 2nd May 2019 and a notice received from Councillor Keith Evans confirming he is now a non-aligned independent councillor, the political make-up of the Council is as follows:
- · Conservative Group 20
- Labour Group 14
- Independent Group 10
- Liberal Democrat Group 5
- Non-aligned Independents (Cllrs Aylen and K. Evans) 2

- 2. That the changes to the numbers, titles and responsibilities of Cabinet Members made by the new Leader of the Council, be noted and that these changes be reflected in an amendment Schedule 1(a) of Part 3 to the Constitution.
- 3. That the changes to the Cabinet and Cabinet Committee made by the new Leader of the Council, be noted.
- 4. That the changes to the appointments agreed by the Council on 16th May 2019 as set out in Lists C and D, as circulated at the meeting, be approved.
- 5. That the Members indicated in List E, as circulated at the meeting, be appointed to the outside bodies for the Municipal Year 2019/20 with the exception of the bodies listed below, to which the following Councillors be appointed:
- (a) British Destinations Councillor Robinson;
- (b) Essex Heritage Trust Councillor Mulroney;
- (c) Homeless Action Resource Project Councillor McDonald;
- (d) Jazz Archive Councillor Ayling;
- (e) London Southend Airport Consultative Committee Councillors, Thompson, Cowan, Terry and Davidson.
- 6. That the following minor Constitutional amendments be approved:
- (a) That the size of the Traffic Regulations Working Party be increased from 8 to 12 (comprising the 3 Cabinet Members who sit on the Cabinet Committee and 9 Councillors who are not Cabinet Members): 5:3:3:1
- (b) That the membership of the Senior Managers' Pay Panel be adjusted so that it includes 'The Leaders of the 2 largest Opposition Groups (or the Leader and one other member of the Opposition Group).
- (c) That the number of Councillors on the Children's Service Improvement Plan Scrutiny Panel be increased from 5 to 6: 2:2:1:1.